Roanoke-Blacksburg Technology Council TechNite Award Winners

In addition to announcing a name change from the NewVa Corridor Technology Council (NCTC) to the Roanoke-Blacksburg Technology Council (RBTC), the technology organization announced the winners of its annual TechNite Awards Banquet on Thursday, May 12, 2011 at The Hotel Roanoke and Conference Center in Roanoke, Virginia.

Finalists are highlighted in yellow. Winners are in bold text and highlighted in yellow.

Rising Star Award

This award recognizes a local technology company whose "star is rising." It may not be a household name yet, but it could soon be another local success story in the NewVa Region. The nominees are:

88 Owls

Aaron Bitler
Nomad Mobile Guides
She Chooses
Smart College Visit

Entrepreneur Award

Entrepreneurs are a different breed. Sometimes it takes nerves of steel to blaze a new path. This award
recognizes someone in our community who exemplifies what it means to be a risk-taker in the technology field.

Henry Bass, Automation Creations
Dr. John Davis
Margaret Ellis, DevelopEase
Michael Fleming, TORC Technologies
Nathan Latka, Lujure
Peter Lazar, eBroselow
David Poteet, NewCity / Nomad Mobile Guides

NewVa Leadership Award

This award recognizes one of our own who not only succeeds in the workplace, but also leads by example by contributing significantly to the community in which we live.

Frank Dees, Experi-Ed Learning Concepts
Sam English, CIE Partners
Jim Flowers, VT KnowledgeWorks
Ryan Hagan, currently with Rackspace, to be joining Qualtrax, a subsidiary of CCS-Inc.
Jonathan Hagmaier, Interactive Achievement
ITT Night Vision & Imaging
Doug Juanarena, Rackspace
Rick Pevarski, Virginia Utility Protection Service
Minnis Ridenour, Virginia Tech
Bob Summers, 460Angels

Innovation Award

This award recognizes an individual, a group of individuals, a company, or other organization that sets the standard for thought leadership and innovation in their respective fields. By definition, they are doing something new or different, and they are doing it well. Their innovation represents a significant technological breakthrough or addresses a great market opportunity or both. (Alphabetized by company name.)

Adaptive Technologies
Kollmorgen Corporation
PixelOptics, Ronald Blum
Revivicor, David Ayares

Educator Award

This award recognizes a K-12 educator in the NewVa Region that promotes math, science and/or the use of
technology in creative ways to transfer knowledge and help develop future technology leaders. (Alphabetized by educator's last name.)

Sara Coleman, Indian Valley Elementary School
Jessica Cromer, Check Elementary School
Michael French, Burton Center for Arts and Technology
Mike Kaylor, Montgomery County Public Schools
Donna Ralph, Narrows Elementary Middle School
Michael Walton, Willis Elementary School

People's Choice Award

The People’s Choice Award allows the TechNite audience the opportunity to learn more about a few up and coming companies in the Roanoke – Blacksburg region and vote for their favorite. The highest vote getter receives the People’s Choice Award.


RUBY Award

This award recognizes those serve as models for others to emulate. Like the gem that shares its name, this person is a precious and valuable asset to the Roanoke-Blacksburg region.

Mary Miller, IDD, Inc.

Here is the complete list of nominees and sponsors for the RBTC's 2011 Nominees and Winners for TechNite Awards.

Who's in FRONT? Nancy Agee
She Chooses Co-founders Meet for First Time

Speak Your Mind