NewVa Corridor Technology Council Announces the 2011 TechNite Award Nominees

Added 4/21/11, 8:10 PM: Please see our updated post, NewVa Corridor Technology Council 2011 TechNite Award Nominees.

From the NewVa Corridor Technology Council (NCTC):

The NewVa Corridor Technology Council (NCTC) is pleased to announce the nominees for the 2011 TechNite Awards. Winners in five categories – Rising Star, Entrepreneur, NewVa Leadership, Innovation, and Educator – will be recognized at the 12th annual TechNite Awards Banquet on May 12th at The Hotel Roanoke and Conference Center in Roanoke, VA.  
Each year, the NCTC membership honors technology and industry leaders from the NewVa region through the TechNite awards banquet. Members of the community nominate the individuals and companies they feel have achieved noteworthy milestones or have made significant contributions through leadership and innovation.
The 2011 TechNite Nominees are:
Rising Star Award

This award recognizes a local technology company whose "star is rising." It may not be a household name yet, but it could soon be another local success story in the NewVa Region. The nominees are:

She Chooses

Smart College Visit
88 Owls
Interactive GIS
Nomad Mobile Guides
Aaron Bitler

Entrepreneur Award

Entrepreneurs are a different breed. Sometimes it takes nerves of steel to blaze a new path. This award
recognizes someone in our community who exemplifies what it means to be a risk-taker in the technology field.

Henry Bass, Automation Creations
Michael Fleming, TORC Technologies
Nathan Latka, Lujure
Peter Lazar, eBroselow
Dr. John Davis   
Margaret Ellis, DevelopEase
David Poteet, NewCity / Nomad Mobile Guides

NewVa Leadership Award

This award recognizes one of our own who not only succeeds in the workplace, but also leads by example by contributing significantly to the community in which we live.

Jim Flowers, VT KnowledgeWorks
Ryan Hagan, Rackspace
Rick Pevarski, Virginia Utility Protection Service
Doug Juanarena, Rackspace
Bob Summers, 460Angels
Jonathan Hagmaier, Interactive Achievement
Minnis Ridenour, Virginia Tech
ITT Night Vision & Imaging
Sam English, CIE Partners
Frank Dees, Experi-Ed Learning Concepts

Innovation Award

This award recognizes an individual, a group of individuals, a company, or other organization that sets the standard for thought leadership and innovation in their respective fields. By definition, they are doing something new or different, and they are doing it well. Their innovation represents a significant technological breakthrough or addresses a great market opportunity or both.

Kollmorgen Corporation
Ronald Blum, PixelOptics
Adaptive Technologies
David Ayares, Revivicor

Educator Award

This award recognizes a K-12 educator in the NewVa Region that promotes math, science and/or the use of
technology in creative ways to transfer knowledge and help develop future technology leaders.

Mike Kaylor, Montgomery County Public Schools
Jessica Cromer, Check Elementary School
Michael Walton, Willis Elementary School
Donna Ralph, Narrows Elementary Middle School
Michael French, Burton Center for Arts and Technology
Sara Coleman, Indian Valley Elementary School

TechNite is an annual celebration of the NewVa Region’s technology community, providing an opportunity to network with more than 300 leaders in business and innovation. This year’s Master of Ceremonies will be Ted Melnik, President, Melnik Consulting. Ted is the former President of Novozymes Biologicals and also a former President of the NCTC.

TechNite event information
Thursday, May 12, 2011
5:30 p.m. Reception
7:00 p.m. Dinner & Awards Ceremony
The Hotel Roanoke and Conference Center
For more information, please visit or call 540-443-9232.

NewVa Corridor Technology Council 2011 TechNite Award Nominees
Gary Vaynerchuk at Virginia Tech

Speak Your Mind